Webinar: Understanding GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation)

All attendees will receive an electronic (PDF) certificate of attendance, recording their participation on this online webinar.

Program Summary:

The EU GDPR will require businesses by 2018 to focus on identifying and protecting sensitive personal data of EU Citizens.

The clock is ticking and it’s time to act as Europe’s most demanding and far reaching Data Security regulation allows regulators to impose significant fines – up to 4{bfa08a400c7550404055ff04715e84c9172815d33c25eb3b84e230636ecdc007} of an organisation’s annual worldwide turnover or €20 million (whichever is greater) – on companies doing business with clients in the EU.

Even if your company is based outside the EU, GDPR may mean some changes are coming your way

GDPR was designed to give EU citizens full control over their personal data and establish a consistent standard for how organizations and businesses secure that data across the EU. In turn, the new set of laws is meant to simplify the regulatory environment for international business.

  • Does your company do business internationally?
  • Do you have customers who are located in an EU member country?
  • Do you have offices in an EU member country?
  • Do you store data (electronically) on servers located in an EU member country?

If you answered yes to any of those questions, GDPR will impact your organisation.

Topics Covered include:

  • What is the goal of GDPR?
  • What are the key aspects of GDPR?
  • What is Personal Data?
  • Data Protection Principles
  • Special Categories of Sensitive / Personal Data
  • Collecting, Processing and Storing Data
  • Roles of Data Controllers, Data Processors and Data Protection Officers
  • Offenses Under the GDPR
  • What can your company do to get ready?

GDPR sets an unprecedented compliance threshold, to the extent that even non-EU companies are subjected to certain data protection compliance requirements.

Considering the incessant advancement of technology, data protection regulations will certainly remain and even be further enhanced. This means that companies must be aware of significant new regulatory developments occurring at a global scale and adjust their practices accordingly, not only to be compliant but also to stay competitive.

Attending this webinar

  • This webinar runs 30-45 minutes.
  • To attend you only need your internet connected device and headphones or speakers.
  • Attendees will be able to ask questions and interact with the speaker and other participants live.
  • Please log in at least 10 minutes before the presentation is due to start.

Frequently asked questions about webinars

Wednesday, 29th November 2017

  • Australia, Sydney 14:00
  • China, Beijing 11:00
  • Hong Kong 11:00
  • India, New Delhi 8:30
  • Indonesia, Jakarta 10:00
  • Japan, Tokyo 12:00
  • Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur 11:00
  • New Zealand, Auckland 16:00
  • Pakistan, Islamabad 8:00
  • Philippines, Manila 11:00
  • Singapore 11:00
  • Sri Lanka,Colombo 8:30
  • Thailand Bangkok 10:00
  • Vietnam Hanoi 10:00

Thursday, 30th November 2017

  • Brazil, Brasilia 14:00
  • Canada, Toronto 11:00
  • Czech Republic, Prague 17:00
  • Ghana, Accra 16:00
  • Mexico, Mexico City 10:00
  • Poland, Warsaw 17:00
  • Romania, Bucharest 18:00
  • Slovakia, Bratislava 17:00
  • Turkey, Istanbul 19:00
  • United Arab Emirates, Dubai 20:00
  • United Kingdom, London 16:00
  • United States of America, New York 11:00 (EST)