Webinar: Solving The Plastic Litter Problem

All attendees will receive an electronic (PDF) certificate of attendance, recording their participation on this online webinar.

Program Summary:

Plastic litter is a big problem affecting almost all countries in the world, which has led to demands from politicians and environmentalists to ban or tax plastic bags.

It is a fact that every year, approximately 280 million tons of plastic is produced globally, but much of it ends up as litter polluting land and sea. Plastic pollution of the open environment is a worldwide problem, and that is why campaigners around the world are trying to ban plastic bags.

Waste plastic has major implications for the health of humans, animals and sea creatures alike. It’s a very visible pollution issue, and it creates a major headache, image-wise, for an otherwise useful, durable, versatile and downright irreplaceable material.

In an ideal world all plastic waste would be collected, but we don’t live in an ideal world. So here we have a dilemma – what do we do with the thousands of tons of plastic which cannot realistically be collected for recycling or other forms of responsible disposal, and escapes into the open environment, endangering wildlife and clogging up waterways? We have to make sure that it does not remain as a plastic in the open environment for decades.

This educational webinar will provide information about oxo-biodegradable (controlled-life) plastics: a technology which allows the life of the product (e.g. lightweight plastic bags and packaging) to be controlled at manufacture. After the useful life of the product, and in the presence of oxygen, the plastic item will become biodegradable in the open environment in the same way as a leaf, only quicker – leaving no toxic residues or fragments of plastic.

Symphony Environmental

Learn About:

  • The issue of waste plastic in the open environment
  • How recycling is not catching the vast majority of plastic bag waste
  • The different types of biodegradable plastics and their comparative benefits
  • The problems of burying waste plastic, biodegradation in landfills and the problem of methane gas
  • The three R’s of waste reduction: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle – how oxo-biodegradable (controlled-life) plastics help in these areas
  • How oxo-biodegradable (controlled-life) plastics are made
  • How oxo-biodegradable (controlled-life) plastics biodegrade over time and under what conditions the materials biodegrade
  • The technology that ensures that oxo-biodegradable (controlled-life) plastics products produce no harmful residue after bio-degradation

Presenters:

Presenting Company
Symphony Environmental is a world leader in the development and marketing of controlled-life plastic, selling through international distributors and agents. Symphony is a member of the International Trade Council (www.tradecouncil.org), the Oxo-biodegradable Plastics Association (www.biodeg.org) (OPA), the Society for the Chemical Industry (UK), and the Pacific Basin Environmental Council. Symphony actively participates in the Committee work of the British Standards Institute (BSI), the American Standards Organisation (ASTM), the European Standards Organisation (CEN) and the International Standards Organisation (ISO).

Presenters
Robert M Bobroff : Robert joined Symphony in 1998, having run his own Residential Property Development Companies for many years and with wide-ranging experience in Sales & Marketing including owning a printing business. He is responsible for managing Symphony’s Distributors in Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and parts of Asia, including India.

Perry Higgs: Perry joined Symphony in 2008 after completing a BSc (Hons) in analytical chemistry with experience in the materials characterisation in the pharmaceutical industry. Perry’s responsibilities include development of and testing of d2w oxo-biodegradable applications, managing Symphony Environmental Product Testing Laboratory looking at material and product characterisation, accelerated degradation and stability studies; as well as laboratory scale compounding and blown film extrusion.

You may visit the website of Symphony Environmental here: www.symphonyenvironmental.com

Date: Thursday, 16th February 2017

Local Times:
OPTION 1:
Abu Dhabi – 1pm
Accra – 9am
Bangkok – 4pm
Cape Town – 11am
Hong Kong – 5pm
London – 9am
Manila – 5pm
New Delhi – 2:30pm
Shanghai – 5pm
Singapore – 5pm

Click here to pre-register to attend this session
Click here to join the session on the day

OPTION 2:
Abu Dhabi – 9.30pm
Accra – 5:30pm
Cape Town – 7:30pm
London – 5:30pm
Los Angeles – 9:30am
Manila – 1.30am
New York – 12:30pm (Midday)

Click here to pre-register to attend this session
Click here to join the session on the day

  • This webinar runs 30-45 minutes.
  • To attend you only need your internet connected device and headphones or speakers.
  • Attendees will be able to ask questions and interact with the speaker and other participants live.
  • Please log in at least 10 minutes before the presentation is due to start.

Frequently asked questions about webinars