Webinar: Communicating Across Cultures

All attendees will receive an electronic (PDF) certificate of attendance, recording their participation on this online webinar.

Program Summary:

Fast travel, international media, and the Internet have made it easy for us to communicate with people all over the world. The process of economic globalisation means that we cannot function in isolation but must interact with the rest of the world for survival. At the same time, lack of knowledge of another culture can lead, at the best, to embarrassing or amusing mistakes in communication. At the worst, such mistakes may confuse or even offend the people we wish to communicate with, making the conclusion of business deals or international agreements difficult or impossible.

This webinar looks at the specific steps which can be taken to improve intercultural communication skills that will help to break down cultural barriers and enhance personal marketability.

Some of the topics covered include:

  • The skills needed to effectively communicate between cultures
  • How to deal with and manage emotions in a multi-cultured dispute
  • What are some of the cultural differences which can impact communications
  • How does one deal with cultural differences in negotiations or disputes

Learn About:

  • The elementary issues to communicate cross-culturally
  • How to deal with and manage emotions in a multi-cultured negotiation or dispute
  • How to manage cultural differences in negotiation or disputes
  • Some general cultural differences which impact negotiations or disputes

Presenter

Lynn Cole
International (IMI, The Hague) Florida Circuit-Civil Certified Mediator and Arbitrator
President, BRDGES Academy
Website: www.brdgesacademy.com

Lynn is the President of BRDGES Academy and has been a force for mediation over the past  several decades. In the early 1990s as Chair of the Civil Justice Reform Act Commission, she commended to the Federal Judges in the Middle District of Florida to promote the use of mediation in their civil case management process.

Since then, that model and the use of mediation has been followed by other federal districts and appellate courts in the United States.  During that same time she worked with the (now called) Florida Supreme Court Dispute Resolution Center to setup the first state court related mediation program in the United States.  Working in developing rule of law countries, Bulgaria, Jordan and Kosovo, she utilized the Florida state model to assist in developing court-related mediation system design.

She is a full time mediator and mediation trainer who is Harvard-trained and mediation certified in Florida; she also is internationally certified by the International Mediation Institute (“IMI”) in The Hague.

Date: 18th September 2017

North America Times

  • Alaska Standard Time (Anchorage) – 11am
  • Atlantic Standard Time (Halifax) – 4pm
  • Central Standard Time (Chicago / Winnipeg / Mexico) – 2pm
  • Eastern Standard Time (New York / Toronto) – 3pm
  • Mountain Standard Time (Salt Lake City / Edmonton) – 1pm
  • Newfoundland Standard Time (St John’s) – 4pm
  • Pacific Standard Time (Los Angeles / Vancouver) – Midday

Europe Times

  • Belgium – 9pm
  • Czech Republic – 6pm
  • Turkey – 10pm
  • United Kingdom – 8pm

Click here to pre-register to attend this session
Click here to join the session on the day

  • This webinar runs 30-45 minutes.
  • To attend you only need your internet connected device and headphones or speakers.
  • Attendees will be able to ask questions and interact with the speaker and other participants live.
  • Please log in at least 10 minutes before the presentation is due to start.

Frequently asked questions about webinars