The Basics of Exporting for Small Businesses

All attendees will receive an electronic (PDF) certificate of attendance, recording their participation on this online webinar.

Program Summary:

People have the perception that a small business does not export. A business that is going international is usually assumed to be a large company, and with this perception in mind a lot of small business owners shy away from trading internationally.

The adage ‘don’t keep your eggs in one basket’ is true here, as exporting allows your business to spread your risks across different markets- so that if one market suffers from a recession, lowered demand or changed preferences- your investment, sales and profits won’t be as significantly impacted. In fact, exporting is a good way of balancing your growth as you can target new markets when there is low demand at home due to seasonal fluctuations. You do not have to be a big company, nor possess a huge budget. The success of a small business in the exporting industry is dependent on the quality, competitive pricing and continuous availability of products. Despite the risks involved, which are actually part and parcel of any business, exporting brings a number of benefits to small businesses.

Topics Covered include:

  • Benefits of exporting (regardless of your size)
  • Differences between selling domestically and exporting
  • Selecting the right market(s)
  • Addressing customer, competitor and cost factors
  • Low risk market entry options
  • Ensuring you get paid
  • IP protection
  • Overcoming common mistakes

Attending this webinar

  • This webinar runs 30-45 minutes.
  • To attend you only need your internet connected device and headphones or speakers.
  • Attendees will be able to ask questions and interact with the speaker and other participants live.
  • Please log in at least 10 minutes before the presentation is due to start.

Frequently asked questions about webinars

Date: Friday, 1st December 2017

  • Australia, Sydney 14:00
  • China, Beijing 11:00
  • Hong Kong 11:00
  • India, New Delhi 8:30
  • Indonesia, Jakarta 10:00
  • Japan, Tokyo 12:00
  • Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur 11:00
  • New Zealand, Auckland 16:00
  • Pakistan, Islamabad 8:00
  • Philippines, Manila 11:00
  • Singapore 11:00
  • Sri Lanka, Colombo 8:30
  • Thailand, Bangkok 10:00
  • Vietnam, Hanoi 10:00

Click here to pre-register to attend this session
Click here to join the session on the day